EVENT NEWS/REVIEW: THE ART OF FASHION

19 May

Last Friday (Friday the 13th) I attended a pop up art exhibition – The Art of Fashion- at the Chelsea Room in the Chelsea Hotel. The beginning of the event was an art show with several top emerging artists who had their art on display & afterwards there was a fashion show in the same room.

It was a lot of fun to see different artists’ work & see how they each expressed themselves. There were abstract artists, photographers, & artists who used acrylic paint on different odds & ends, like an old door with great window panes. My boyfriend’s friend Ben was one of the artists on display & I absolutely love his stuff – I’m hoping to work with him on some shoots in the future. Ben set up his computer with a slide show of his art while he talked to the different art enthusiasts about his inspirations & how he went about creating each photograph.


The event was great (the wine was terrible) & it was nice  being able to see support local artists. If you’d like to check out some of Ben’s work click here.

PS. I know if my mom reads this post she will be jealous. My grandfather & grandmother were artists, as are my mom & aunt.

2 Responses to “EVENT NEWS/REVIEW: THE ART OF FASHION”

  1. Mari Miya May 20, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    I am jealous! What a fun event. The link to Ben’s work isn’t working – at least not for me….
    -Mom

    • annamiya May 20, 2011 at 11:02 am #

      The link to his site should be working now!

Leave a comment